News Home RSS Feed

Friday, March 22, 2013

ACM Awards to Honour Dick Clark

Written by Jon Williams

Televised music awards shows usually focus more on performances than they do on the awards. At this year’s Academy of Country Music Awards, however, a performance by two legendary artists has been put together to celebrate one of the night’s biggest honourees.

In 2009, George Strait was named ACM’s Artist of the Decade for the 2000s; Garth Brooks was given the same title for the 1990s. These two country music icons will perform together for the first time ever at this year’s ACM Awards ceremony in memory of the late Dick Clark, the late music mogul who passed away in 2012. The Artist of the Decade Award will be renamed in Clark’s honour. Clark had produced the show since 1979.

The Artist of the Decade Award has been awarded since the 1960s. In addition to Strait and Brooks, the title has gone to the band Alabama (1980s), Loretta Lynn (1970s), and Marty Robbins (1960s).

While Strait and Brooks may be the most anticipated performers of the night, they certainly aren’t the only ones. Other superstars appearing at the ceremony include Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan (who will host the show), Miranda Lambert, Hunter Hayes, Eric Church, Lady Antebellum, the Band Perry, Taylor Swift, Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Carrie Underwood, and Kelly Clarkson. Many of these artists were also nominated for awards; for a complete list of nominees, SmartBrowse ‘2013 ACM Award Nominees’ on our website.

The ceremony will take place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 7. It will air live on CBS at 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

No comments:

Post a Comment