News Home RSS Feed

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Polaris Prize Short List Announced

Written by Stephanie Narciso

The Polaris Music Prize is an award given to the best Canadian album each year. The prize is based solely on artistic merit, with factors such as genre and sales figures playing no role. Honourees are selected by a jury made up of Canadian music journalists, broadcasters, and bloggers from across the country. On Tuesday, the 2013 short list was announced, ten diverse albums from which the ultimate winner will be selected.

Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! by Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Every Opposite by Zaki Ibrahim
Heartthrob by Tegan and Sara
Metz by Metz
Nation II Nation by A Tribe Called Red
Shrines by Purity Ring
Synthetica by Metric
Ultramarine by Young Galaxy

The winner will be announced at the Polaris Gala on September 23 at the Carlu in Toronto. Past short list honourees Kathleen Edwards and Shad will host the event.

The Polaris Music Prize has been given each year since 2006. Past winners are:

He Poos Clouds by Final Fantasy (2006)
Close to Paradise by Patrick Watson (2007)
Andorra by Caribou (2008)
The Chemistry of Common Life by F**ked Up (2009)
Les Chemins de Verre by Karkwa (2010)
The Suburbs by Arcade Fire (2011)
Metals by Feist (2012)

These albums represent the best of the best that Canadian music has to offer. Make sure you have them all available for your patrons to check out.

No comments:

Post a Comment